Our demands
for a university
that is critical of racism

As the General Student Committee (AStA) of the University of Münster, we show solidarity with all students who are affected by (structural) racism. We are committed to a racism-critical university that is not afraid to deal with sensitive issues in a reflective way and where all people can devote themselves to their studies without fear of racist discrimination. We hope to get closer to the goal of a sincere and authentic discussion of racism.

How white is our teaching?

What are we reading? Who writes what we read? How are topics presented in the text? Who teaches us? Who does the hiring for the university? We demand that the university reflects on its range of courses and its staffing in a critical way! It has to work on not reproducing a predominantly “white” education system. Making BIPoC visible in the academic world and concrete anti-discrimination work must be a priority in the entire university’s educational system.

Do you speak English?

We demand that the normality of the German language at the university be critically questioned and that students of different mother tongues be offered a wide range of courses in English. We consider this to be necessary in order to create equal opportunities for all students!

I can see what you can not see!

We demand that the anonymization of exams to counteract discrimination against racialized people. The anonymization has to take place in all departments. Consciously or unconsciously, specific, sometimes racialized expectations and prejudices are linked to a name. This attitude influences an exam evaluation and prevents a performance principle based on equal opportunities.

 

Anti-racism officer of the university

We demand that racism be recognized and prioritized as a problem. Different forms of discrimination must be viewed in a differentiated manner – and that cannot be done by the Equal Opportunities Office with a focus on gender equality alone. That is why we demand an anti-racism officer at the university as well as a subordinate institution that is critical of racism in each department.

Show position

The university is an institution that plays a central role in the overall social context. We see the university as having an obligation to position itself on current, socio-political events. The fact that there is no critical discussion of racism on the part of a high academic authority make it look as if the topic is controversial. We consider it necessary that the university shall first and foremost take a stand and also include this content in the curriculum.

Good Night White Pride

We demand a resolute and clear demarcation from fraternities! Right-wing student associations attack our democratic, pluralistic society with their traditional racism and misogyny and queer-hostile models. The university has an obligation to publicly distance itself from such organizations and to do educational work! This is a minimum requirement for the university to make its self-proclaimed progressive, anti-discriminatory values visible!

We have a racism problem!

We demand that the university manifest its anti-racist stance through an appropriate policy! The university must recognize that its structure is directly and indirectly pervaded by racism! The policy is intended to be a guideline for dealing with racist situations and also to reflect and make visible racist structures in the university environment. BIPoC students and employees of the university need a sense of security and the feeling that the university takes their experiences and fears seriously. In addition, the policy could both legitimize the existence of an anti-racism officer and offer a legal basis for trade.

Glossary

white

We use white as a politically marked term that does not refer to phenotypical characteristics but describes the social and political position in a raciast society with which privileges and power are associated. The formatting of the word is used for deconstruction purposes and mark the above meaning of this term.

BIPoC

BIPoC stands for Black People, Indigenous People and People of Colour. Black is the „politically correct and above all self-chosen term for Black people“ (Sow 2009: 20). Indigenous People are „defined by the United Nations as the descendants of people who inhabited a territory before it was subjugated, subordinated or colonised by groups from other parts of the world or before their territory became part of a state“ (NdM – Glossary). People of Colour (PoC) is „a self-description of people who have experienced racism, who are not perceived as white, German and Western, and who do not define themselves that way.“ (NdM – Glossary). BIPoC is thus the chosen (self-)designation for people affected by racism, which is used in de-colonial, post-colonial and anti-racist literature, among others.

Sources

NdM-Glossar: Indigene, [online] https://glossar.neuemedienmacher.de/glossar/indigene/ 
NdM-Glossar: Person of Color (PoC), [online] https://glossar.neuemedienmacher.de/glossar/people-of-color-poc/ 
Sow, Noah (2009): Deutschland Schwarz Weiß. Der alltägliche Rassismus, 5. Aufl., München: Wilhelm Goldmann Verlag.

More on this subject

Raum und Stimme (Podcast)

A podcast about Afro-German identities. Supported by the AStA. In crisp 30 minute episodes you can get an insight into BIPoC community discourses and how they affect us here in Münster. We – Carlos and Silvia – create space for exchange and articulate two voices on life as BIPoC in Germany.
The podcast is in German.

Spotify  Soundcloud  Apple Podcasts

#unirassismuskritisch (Petition)

There are no racism-free spaces. Not even at colleges and universities. (Institutional) racism must be recognized, named and deconstructed at colleges/universities.
Racism prevents educational justice.

Link to the petition

#campusrassismus (Campaign)

Under the hashtag #campusracism, many people shared their experiences with institutional racism on the part of professors, on campus, in textbooks, etc. in 2015, following a call by the PoC-Hochschulgruppe Mainz. The campaign wanted to make visible the realities of life of students affected by racism and to problematize institutional racism.

Trigger warning (racism)!

Article at ZEIT Campus

Article at TAZ

Hashtag on Twitter

Schreib uns / Contact us

6 + 9 =

Instagram

@bipocreferat.ms

Facebook

@bipocreferat.ms

Newsletter

einfach anmelden und Updates erhalten

Unsere
Forderungen für
eine rassismus-kritische Universität

Als AStA der Uni Münster, solidarisieren wir uns mit allen Studierenden, die von (strukturellem) Rassismus betroffen sind. Wir setzen uns für eine rassismuskritische Universität ein, die sich nicht vor einem reflektierten Umgang mit sensiblen Themen scheut und an der sich alle Menschen ihrem Studium widmen können, ohne rassistische Diskriminierung fürchten zu müssen. Wir hoffen mit unseren Forderungen dem Ziel einer aufrichtigen und authentischen Auseinandersetzung mit Rassismus näher zu kommen.

Wie weiß ist unsere Lehre?

Was lesen wir? Wer schreibt, was wir lesen? Wie werden Themen im Text dargestellt? Wer lehrt uns? Wen stellt die Uni ein?
Wir fordern, dass die Universität ihr Lehrangebot sowie ihre Personalaufstellung rassismuskritisch reflektiert! Sie muss daran arbeiten, kein mehrheitlich weißes Bildungswesen zu reproduzieren.
Die Sichtbarmachung von BIPoC im akademischen Raum und konkrete Anti-Diskriminierungsarbeit muss Priorität im gesamten universitären Bildungsapparat sein.

Do you speak English?

Wir fordern, dass der Normalitätsanspruch der deutschen Sprache an der Uni kritisch hinterfragt wird und dass Studierenden unterschiedlicher Muttersprachen ein breites Kursangebot auf Englisch zu Verfügung steht. Dies halten wir für notwendig, um ein chancengerechtes Bildungsangebot für alle Studierenden zu schaffen!

Ich sehe was, was du nicht siehst!

Wir fordern, dass durch die Anonymisierung von Klausuren der Diskriminierung rassifizierter Menschen entgegen gewirkt wird. Die Anonymisierung muss fachbereichsübergreifend stattfinden.

Bewusst oder unbewusst werden spezifische, teilweise rassifizierte Erwartungen und Vorurteile an einen Namen geknüpft. Diese Haltung beeinflusst eine Klausurbewertung und verhindert ein chancengerechtes Leistungsprinzip.

Antirassismusbeauftragte*r der Uni

Wir fordern, dass Rassismus als Problem anerkannt und priorisiert wird.
Verschiedene Formen von Diskriminierung müssen differenziert betrachtet werden –  und das kann nicht vom Gleichstellungsbüro mit Schwerpunkt Geschlechtergerechtigkeit geleistet werden. Deshalb fordern wir eine*n Antirassismusbeauftragte*n an der Uni sowie eine untergeordnete rassismuskritische Institution in jedem Fachbereich.

Haltung zeigen

Die Universität ist eine Institution, die im gesamtgesellschaftlichen Kontext eine zentrale Rolle spielt. Wir sehen die Uni in der Pflicht, sich zu aktuellen, gesellschaftspolitischen Geschehnissen zu positionieren. Dadurch, dass eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit Rassismus von Seiten einer hohen, akademischen Instanz fehlt, wird suggeriert, dass das Thema kontrovers sei. Wir erachten es als notwendig, dass die Uni in erster Linie Haltung einnimmt und darüber hinaus diese Inhalte ins Lehrangebot aufnimmt.

Good Night White Pride

Wir fordern eine entschlossene und klare Abgrenzung von Burschenschaften! Rechte Studierendenverbindungen greifen mit ihren tradierten rassistischen und frauen-/queer*feindlichen Leitbildern unsere demokratische, pluralistische Gesellschaft an. Die Universität steht in der Pflicht, sich von solchen Organisationen öffentlich zu distanzieren und Aufklärungsarbeit zu leisten! Dies ist eine Mindestanforderung an die Uni, ihre selbst ernannten progressiven, antidiskriminierenden Werte sichtbar zu machen!

Wir haben ein Rassismusproblem!

Wir fordern, dass die Universität ihre antirassistische Haltung durch eine entsprechende Policy manifestiert!
Die Universität muss anerkennen, dass ihre Struktur direkt sowie indirekt von Rassismus durchzogen ist! Die Policy soll ein Leitfaden für den Umgang mit rassistischen Situationen sein und zudem rassistische Strukturen im universitären Raum reflektieren und sichtbar machen. BIPoCStudierende und Mitarbeitende der Uni brauchen eine Sicherheit und das Gefühl, dass die Universität ihre Erfahrungen und Ängste ernst nimmt. Zudem könnte die Policy eine*n Antirassismusbeauftragte*n sowohl legitimieren, als auch eine rechtliche Handelsgrundlage bieten.

Glossar

weiß

Wir verwenden weiß als politisch markierten Begriff, der sich nicht auf phänotypische Merkmale bezieht, sondern die soziale und politische Position in einer rassistisch strukturierten Gesellschaft beschreibt, mit der Privilegien und Macht einhergehen. Die Kursiv- und Kleinschreibung des Wortes dient zu Dekonstruktionszwecken und kennzeichnet die obig genannte Bedeutung dieses Begriffs.

BIPoC

BIPoC steht für Black People, Indigenous People and People of Color. Black bzw. Schwarz ist hierbei die „politisch korrekte und vor allem selbst gewählte Bezeichnung für Schwarze Menschen“ (Sow 2009: 20). Indigenous People sind „laut Definition der Vereinten Nationen die Nachfahren der Menschen, die ein Gebiet bereits bewohnten, bevor sie von Gruppen aus anderen Teilen der Welt unterworfen, untergeordnet oder kolonialisiert wurden oder ihr Gebiet Teil eines Staates wurde“ (NdM – Glossar). People of Color (PoC) ist „eine Selbstbezeichnung von Menschen mit Rassismuserfahrung, die nicht als weiß, deutsch und westlich wahrgenommen werden und sich auch selbst nicht so definieren.“ (NdM – Glossar). BIPoC ist somit die gewählte (Selbst-)Bezeichnung für von Rassismus betroffene Menschen, die u.a. in de-kolonialer, postkolonialer und antirassistischer Literatur Verwendung findet.

Quellen

NdM-Glossar: Indigene, [online] https://glossar.neuemedienmacher.de/glossar/indigene/ (Letzter Aufruf: 07.04.2020).
NdM-Glossar: Person of Color (PoC), [online] https://glossar.neuemedienmacher.de/glossar/people-of-color-poc/ (Letzter Aufruf: 07.04.2020).
Sow, Noah (2009): Deutschland Schwarz Weiß. Der alltägliche Rassismus, 5. Aufl., München: Wilhelm Goldmann Verlag.

Mehr zu dem Thema

Raum und Stimme (Podcast)
Ein Podcast über afrodeutsche Identitäten. Unterstützt vom AStA der Universität Münster. In knackigen 30minütigen Folgen könnt ihr einen Einblick in BIPoC Community-Diskurse bekommen und wie diese uns auch hier in Münster betreffen. Wir – Carlos und Silvia – schaffen Raum für Austausch und artikulieren zwei Stimmen zum Leben als BIPoC in Deutschland. 

Spotify  Soundcloud  Apple Podcasts

#unirassismuskritisch (Petition)

Es gibt keine rassismusfreien Räume. Auch nicht an Hochschulen und Universitäten. (Institutioneller) Rassismus muss an Hochschulen/ Universitäten erkannt, benannt und dekonstruiert werden.
Rassismus verhindert Bildungsgerechtigkeit.

Zur Petition

#campusrassismus (Kampagne)

Unter dem Hashtag #campusrassismus, haben viele Menschen 2015 nach einem Aufruf der PoC-Hochschulgruppe Mainz, ihre Erfahrungen mit institutionellem Rassismus seitens der Professor*innen, auf dem Campus, in den Lehrbüchern etc. geteilt. Die Kampagne wollte die Lebensrealitäten von Studierenden, die von Rassismus betroffen sind, sichtbar machen und institutionellen Rassismus problematisieren.

Triggerwarnung (Rassismus)!

Artikel bei ZEIT Campus

Artikel bei der TAZ

Hashtag auf Twitter

Schreib uns / Contact us

1 + 5 =

Instagram

@bipocreferat.ms

Facebook

@bipocreferat.ms

Newsletter

einfach anmelden und Updates erhalten